Skip to content

Arrive Down Under 5/8/2012

May 8, 2012

Welcome to my blog.  I hope to make this as entertaining as possible.  Thanks so much for following me.

So I left LAX Sunday, May 6th at 11:30pm on my journey down under.  I arrived in Fiji for a 3 hour layover and then on to Auckland where I touched down at 11:18am on Tuesday, May 8th.  So I guess I just slept right through the 7th.

When I arrived, Ben from Boundary Road Brewing was there with a couple other brewery employees and a film crew…yes a film crew.  Apparently these guys are going to be following us around for a few days.  We headed of to a high point in the area so I got a neat 360* view of the area.  Of course while trying to get into the car for the ride over, I tried to get into the drivers side door because it is located on the other side of the car.  It sure is going to be a challenge driving.

After the panoramic view we headed to the cavalier for lunch.  This was a cool old pub that had some local beer and yummy pub food.  I was grilled about all things beer by the film crew and hammed it up for the cameras.

The guys then drove me to my new home.  I’m staying in a cool little B&B in Ponsonby called the Ponsonby House www.ponsonbyhouse.co.nz  Bernadette White is the manager there and greeted me with open arms and a smile.  I soon met my neighbors Sam and Ingrid.  They seemed pretty cool.  Ingrid is some type of computer programing teacher and she is across the hall. I’m not sure what Sam does, but she is at the end of the hall.  A bunch of us are supposed to go out to some French Bistro Thursday, so I’ll give you an update about them later.

I unpacked and settled into my new digs.  Soon after it started pouring rain.  I showered up and the rain finally stopped.  I headed

out and grabbed some Thai Food.  I don’t remember the name and it’s probably good that I didn’t cause the food was forgettable.  I did however find a great little pub after dinner that was called The Golden Dawn.  It had a great vibe and they had Hallertau (a local brewery) on tap. What really blew my mind is they also had Green Flash IPA on, but unfortunately it was out.

After my pint I headed home, watched some TV and Crashed.

It’s 7:04am Wednesday.  I’m going to grab some breakfast and then wait for Ben to pick me up to go to the brewery.

Cheers!

Spike

From → New Zealand 2012

4 Comments
  1. Yo, does the water really spiral down in the opposite direction?

  2. Anon permalink

    If it’s any consolation, you didn’t sleep through the 7th – the international date line ate it.

  3. Welcome to New Zealand. Glad you found the Hallertau beer so quickly. We have lots more like that to offer.
    Cheers

Leave a comment